Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

Hello world!

Hey everyone!

Isn’t this exciting? This is my first ever blog, so I hope you will all cut me a bit of slack on my first few posts.

I guess I should give you all a little background on why I am starting this blog.

Oddly enough, I really like politics. It is something that I am passionate about, and have been passionate about for a few years now. Only God knows why.

I want to start a blog because I live in this college world that is highly liberal. I am a 19 year old, white, female, conservative college student living in a liberal college world, where everyone around me tells me my views are wrong because I choose not to conform to what is “politically correct” in this day and age. Talk about breaking the “norms” of today’s society. If I speak up for myself, my views, my religion, my politics, my Pro-Life stance I am accused of caring about no one but myself, accused of creating agendas that will only benefit me, white people, Catholics, accused of only believing these things because it’s what my parents want me to believe. Rubbish.

People often misinterpret who conservatives are, judge who I am by what they merely THINK I am, or by what the media tells them I am. It is ignorance.

So, this blog will be me speaking out. I’m going to find the other conservative college students who believe in the same values I do. I know you are out there!

Most of my friends are super liberal. A few are semi-moderate. And this is fine, because I am forced to back up the things that I believe in. I’m forced to educate myself. You always need someone who will challenge what you believe in, because that is how you become smarter and more knowledgeable. But, because I am the only conservative within my circle of friends, I am highly outnumbered, and therefore rarely have an opportunity to speak out because I know that at least 4 people will be there to gang up on me. Not fun.

So. This is me speaking out! I will not be quieter any longer. I refuse to be a part of the silence majority. And yes, I think that is exactly what we are. Sad, but true.

This blog is to prove to my friends that they DON’T have me figured out. Everyone thinks they know what I stand for. And while they may be true to a point, I don’t think they realize how passionate I am about what it is I believe in. I want people to know that there is someone who is going to take a stand. I am willing to take a stand. I’ve never been afraid of people calling me out, challenging me. I’m not going to be silent because it’s “bad” to have conservative principles.

Hence, this is why I am sitting at my desk, in my dorm room typing out this blog. I truly feel called to do this.

Some of you may call me a radical. This is slightly true. But it takes a slightly radical person to say the things others are unwilling to say. Just look at Sean Hannity or Rush Limbaugh or Bill O’Reilly. They get so much heat for speaking out. I give them so much credit.

A lot of what I post will be things that happened to me at school. So all of the names will be changed. For obvious reasons.

I am completely open to comments and questions here. I would love to hear all of your stories and happenings on your campuses. However, I do ask that you keep them clean. No profanity please. I want this to be an open environment.

Until next time, Lucy

“If the world hates you, realize that it hated me first.” (John 15:18)

Comments on: "Hello world!" (1)

  1. I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of you!

    LY. xo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

