Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

So, here I am. It’s 10:15 in the morning. I’m still a little bit sleepy sitting in my seat waiting for my Psychology class to begin. I notice that the guy who sits directly in front of my was checking his email. And like the nosy person that I am, was checking it out a little. And I am glad that I did because the dude had a GREAT quote on his email.

It went a little something like this:

The “Government Logic” Oxymoron: The government forces its citizens to prove that they have insurance, but they don’t make them prove that they are citizens.

This is so extremely profound, I can’t even tell you. I wish I had had time to strike up a conversation with the kid, because I feel like we could have talked about this quite a bit.

How true is this little statement though folks? Americans are forced to have car insurance, expected to have health insurance (and soon will be forced to), life insurance, etc… BUT. The government doesn’t make people prove that they have citizenship in this country. Oxymoronic indeed. There are so many people reaping the rewards that are here illegally. If everyone gets the same benefits regardless of status in this country, then there isn’t anything left for those who were born here, who are citizens, or those men and women who had to pay their way here, who worked hard to earn a living in this great country. Should we not be rewarding those who are born here and come here legally and punishing those who come here illegally and think they deserve everything? It’s a shame that the Arizona Immigration Laws were shot down. They would have made a great, positive impact.

~Lucy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

