Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

Often times conservatives are accused of being closed-minded, or NOT being open-minded. This is a shame because while I believe that certain individuals can be closed-minded and unwilling to see things from a new perspective, the conservative argument, and the values and morals that conservatives base their arguments are not close-minded principles.

So I ask you.

What does it mean to be open-minded? Are there different definitions?

The dictionary.com definition of “open-minded” is having or showing a mind receptive to new ideas or arguments. Fair enough. I would agree with this definition.

How are conservatives, as a whole of course, not open-minded? Is it just because we won’t allow so called gay “marriages”? Or because we are going protect the lives of the unborn and not give into the selfish arguments of the Pro-choice groups? Are we closed minded because we believe that government should be as small as possible, leaving the state governments stronger, and thus, giving the people more power? I could keep going.

Based on this logic, I think that there could be another definition for being open-minded. I think this is how the left sees it.

Conservatives are closed-minded, hence, NOT open-minded, because we don’t agree with the liberal’s point of view.

Eh, you don’t agree that gays should be able to enter into marriage? You are closed-minded. You are homophobic.

You don’t think women should be allowed the choice to abort their baby if they want? Closed-minded. You obviously don’t want right for women. You keep oppressing them.

You think that Christian morals and values should be upheld in our country? That’s closed-minded because what if it will offend the Jewish community, or Goodness forbid, the Muslims. Let’s allow them to build a Mosque on Ground Zero, but take away your National Day of Prayer.

This mind set it ridiculous.

Well, my conservative collegiates, how about we use this argument against the liberals.

You don’t see that marriage is a union between one man, one woman, and GOD? How about you start opening your mind that there is something greater in this life than always getting what you want. Just because we don’t advocate for gay marriage, doesn’t mean we are homophobic. We are not criticizing the person, we are not saying that they don’t have a right to be happy. We just don’t agree or condone the act.

You don’t see the sanctity and dignity in every human life, even those of unborn children? How about you start opening your mind to the joys of life, the simple things, the beauty and innocence of babies? How about you start seeing that we were ALL created equal. Whites, blacks, asians, unborn babies. They are humans; they have more than “potential.” They are human. They have a soul. We are all equal in God’s eyes, and He created us all equal.

If liberals want us to start seeing their side more, maybe they should work on seeing ours. They can say that conservatives need to be more open-minded all they want, but we can use the same argument.

I hope y’all see where I’m coming from here. I would love to hear what you guys think.

I hope it’s sunny where you are, because it’s a gorgeous day here. Sunny and warm. Makes me thankful for all I have in this life, and all that I have to fight for.

May God bless you on this day.

~Lucy

Comments on: "What is it to be “open-minded”?" (8)

  1. scotrik1 said:

    I’d like to comment on this. Please don’t take this as argumentative, I do sometimes come across that way, but I’d like to explain my thoughts.
    I’m 40, a gay man, and I was raised Catholic. I lived with hearing that I was going to burn in hell my whole life. I quit going to church at 18, though even now I consider myself Christian.
    The difference between what you suggest and what gays suggest is this: we want rights that you already have. We are not asking for laws that would change your lives, only ours. You are asking that we settle for what you give us, changing OUR lives personally. You are requiring everyone to live by your moral code. We are just asking that we be allowed to marry the one we love, not that YOU have to marry someone of the same sex. If we get what we want, we are happy and christian lives don’t change at all. If you get what you want, our lives stay without any validation of love acknowledged, and your lives STILL don’t change at all. .
    This is a quote out of my blog that I posted today: “Put yourself in someone else’s shoes…can you imagine not being able to hold the hand of your husband/wife in public for fear of having someone take a baseball bat to you? Or possibly stab you 57 times because you’re (GASP) straight?? Can you imagine NEVER talking about your home life for the same fear? Not that your wife made your favorite dinner last night, or that you’d like to leave work early because it’s your anniversary, or that your husband has just had a heart attack, and you’re not allowed to take off work to go to him??? Or for those who love someone from out of the country….having Immigration tell you that it doesn’t matter that you’ve been together for 20 years, they are deporting your spouse because hetereosexuality isn’t accepted in their world as legally binding for them to become citizens?? For those single heterosexuals–can you imagine not being able to even flirt a bit at the grocery store?” These rights are not going to change your personal life one bit, and yet ours would change for the better in drastic measures. Isn’t that what God wants? For us to LOVE each other? God gave me the love that I have for my partner, and it’s only the conservative christian viewpoint that keeps me from having these rights, many of which are designed for couples in love to take care of each other, especially in old age. Imagine growing old, and not being allowed to marry the one you love. No time off to care for them if they are sick, or take time off for their funeral because they are not your “spouse” or “immediate family.”
    But that, in my view, is the difference. What you want keeps us from being happy, and what we want doesn’t change your life at all.

    • @scotrik1
      First off, I am very sorry that you were told that you would “burn in hell” for being gay. I would like to tell you that that is NOT the stance of the Catholic church. The Church teaches us that it is not any of our places to judge a person by any means; we all have our own faults and sins, and judgement comes from God. Not any of us. In fact, the Catholic Catechism states, “They must be accepted with respect, compassion, and sensitivity. Every sign of unjust discrimination in their regard should be avoided. These persons are called to fulfill God’s will in their lives…” (CCC, no. 2358). I invite you to go look it up, if you doubt the stance of the Catholic Church on such matters. It is heartbreaking to hear that you left the Church due to the unjustified judgement of others.
      On this note, it is also not our place to redefine marriage as the bible and God set before us. Marriage is more than an agreement between two people; it is a covenant, created by a man and a woman, to God. It is one of the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. Just because conservative Christians are trying to uphold the sanctity of marriage does not mean that we are denying your right to happiness, or discriminating against you. And we most certainly do not believe that you will burn in hell. But what we are fighting for is the continuance of the will of God in this world, and as Christians and disciples of Christ, we are expected to trust in Him and do His will.
      I appreciate your comment. I hope that someday you find it in your heart to return to the Catholic Church.

      • scotrik1 said:

        Thank you for your response. I appreciate it.
        I don’t need to go look up the policies now, I left the church 22 years ago, from a church with an old-school Irish priest. I know the times have changed somewhat. But I’d prefer to have my own beliefs in God that I can believe in wholeheartedly.
        I completely understand any christian that believes the parts of the bible that mention homosexuals (even though the passages before and after are ignored) may not want the church to sanctify a gay marriage-and that is every religions right. But I do NOT believe the way some christians are behaving when it comes to LEGAL marriage that has nothing to do with the church. And that is where I have a problem with the church interfering. I’ve had friends all my life that ran off to get married by a justice of the peace, or whatever your particular city might call it. No religion, nothing to do with any church organization. Just the laws of man. Now that’s what I want. I do not want to force any church to approve of it under their own roofs, but as Christians, I do expect you to live and let live…and love and let love. God gave me this love for another man….if not, then who do YOU think gave it to me?? Satan doesn’t create Love….so any christian that feels they are doing God’s will by stunting other people’s love in public and humiliating them is by far an atrocity in my eyes. And truly, how can you look at denying us marriage as NOT being discriminatory and denying us happiness?? That is exactly what it is. Conservative christians ARE denying our happiness, and treating us as second-class citizens, just as they did the blacks back in the Civil Rights era, using certain passages of the bible to put others down instead of holding them up for Love. It was Conservative Christians that wanted to keep the slaves during the civil war, and it was conservative christians that said women should be in the home and not out working and voting, and it was conservative christians that said blacks had enough rights and didn’t need to vote….
        In the end, Jesus never once mentioned homosexuality, and it’s definitely not in the Top Ten (the Ten Commandments) and yet murders and adulterers are welcome to get married in the church….even after a divorce nowadays….but because I love someone of the same sex, you think that not only should I not be allowed to marry in your church, but that I should not be allowed to marry ANYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY. Truly, I find that personally offensive, because it IS personal. And going back to my first response, my happiness would cost you nothing, and yet your happiness in this costs me everything. If you’d like to see more about my feelings on the matter, you are welcome to check out my blog as well, and comment. http://scotrik1.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/hypocrisy-and-lies/
        Thank you for actually posting my comment (most don’t) and replying. I’d like to talk more about this with you. There is alot more than “just marriage” involved. One of my blog posts lists many of the “rights” that heterosexual married couples have that I am being denied. And many of them are very important for someone getting older and needing those. It is about Love, but it is also about humanity and loving thy neighbor and not viewing my love as less than yours.

        • The problem with saying that you want a marriage law just to apply to the government is that, eventually, the law will end up applying to Churches all over the country. As nice as that would be at times, it is implausible. A gay marriage law would end up being forced on churches, on all religions.
          You are correct in saying that Satan does not create love. But he is able to create a false sense of love. I am by no means saying that your love is false or created by Satan. I do, however, want you to realize that Satan is manipulative. He wants us to turn away from God. He lulls us into this false sense of security, of happiness. His purpose is to get us to deny God, to deny the will of God and turn towards sin.
          You say that by denying you the right to marriage, Christians are humiliating you. But I ask you: What do you think about Christians, who are often ostracized because we stand up against gay marriage? What about when WE are discriminated against because we don’t believe in the same things that you do? Is this also not in violation of human rights? It seems like a double standard. We are expected to see your viewpoint, and if we don’t side with you, then we are automatically being discriminatory and denying your right to happiness. But you are not expected to see where we are coming from, and you are allowed to attack us any way you choose because we stand up for what we believe in. I see this all the time at school. I experience this all the time at school. We are not denying your right to happiness! We are not discriminating against you! Denying the right to marriage is not about creating happiness. This whole argument does not produce happiness for us. It is about standing up for our Christian values, standing up for what we feel is right. Just like you are going to stand up for what you believe to be right.
          I’m not sure how you can say that we are treating you like second-class citizens. I don’t see how you are treated any differently than anyone else, besides this whole argument.
          I would also like to mention the fact that the Catholic church does not condone divorce, and a divorced person may not get remarried within the church unless their former spouse is deceased or they have received an annulment.
          Those so-called Christians who enslaved blacks and justified it with holy scripture were not acting in conjunction with God and His word. So to compare Conservative Christians today (most of them at least) and those who enslaved Africans is unfair. And that is offensive to me, to be compared to a slave driver.
          Just as you are asking me to see your viewpoint, I ask you to see mine and where I come from. You say that you have a lot to lose in this situation; so do I.

          • scotrik1 said:

            Again-we don’t ostracize and discriminate against you for believing what you do, we do that when you try to force your “morals” onto everyone else in the country. Again, Christ forced nothing of his teachings onto ANYONE.
            You have nothing to lose in this. And if you think you do, you’ve been brainwashed by all those lying others that I rail against. What happens to me as to whether I can marry makes absolutely no difference to you whatsoever in your life. But it can make mine better. And if this is how you view Christianity-to hold to your views while it makes others less than you-then you truly need to review your ethics. Sorry to have bothered you-this is why I don’t usually comment, and I won’t be checking back to comment again. I truly hope that you have a wonderful life-even while you try to make sure that I don’t.

          • You are correct in saying that Jesus didn’t “force” his teachings onto anyone. And yet, He expected people to follow them nonetheless. What I have to lose in this is the teachings of my church, the Christian teachings, human dignity and morality. So while you are unable to see it, this have a great impact on my life. You can say that I am brainwashed all you want. I know the truth, and honestly, I think you are immature to say that. You think that I need to review my ethics because I don’t agree with gay “marriage”? If that is what you think ethics is, your whole view of ethics is skewed.
            And I wasn’t bothered with your comments until you started comparing me to a slave driver, saying I was brainwashed, etc. Now, I am just slightly offended. I hope that you do have a happy life, as well. And I pray that you will someday see the truth in this whole argument.
            God Bless.
            ~Lucy

  2. tomorrowsbeautifulmess said:

    I struggle to understand how you have a constant repetitive issue with gay marriage. I have read the above comments and feel saddened by your lack of compassion for others. You say you are moral and hold human dignity near, I struggle to see that.

    I think the word empathy comes to mind, do you have any? And I agree with scotrik1. He tried to visualize what his life is like and help you understand it from your shoes. Could you imagine living your life without the same simple privilege as the majority, without being able to hold your boyfriends hand or mention you were in a relationship at work due to the fear of being judged?

    This is an issue similar to those of slave drivers, not allowing black people to vote, women’s rights. All were fought against and all have been changed, in 100 years I believe this view will change too and thought of as outlandish and ridiculous. I don’t know why I’m commenting, I guess it just enraged me slightly that you think other people’s rights are something that belong to you. That you have say over, because quite frankly, it’s nothing to do with you.

    I don’t want to argue. I just needed to voice that.

    • I appreciate your comment!

      The whole issue of gay marriage comes down to truth, which has been lost in our current society today. Today, the truth is whatever we want it to be, which causes us to be blinded by selfish desires.

      The truth is that marriage is a privilege, not a right. It is a union between one man, one woman, and God. And nothing else. I realize that this concept is a hard one to grasp. Our current society doesn’t make things any easier.

      Slavery and gay marriage is completely different. Blacks were denied their Natural Rights, their rights to life and liberty and property (to quote the many philosophers who struggled to define natural rights). These are inalienable, they cannot be taken without force. Any law that denies people these rights is illegitimate. Natural rights are held in the truth. But gay marriage would be a civic right, which is not protected under nature or the truth. It is not the truth and it never will be.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

