Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

Hope everyone is having a great day, thus far.

Here is my commentary on Ch. 2 of “The Politically Incorrect Guide to Women, Sex, and Feminism.”

What ever happened to chivalry? I mean, honestly. What happened to guys opening doors for girls? Or guys making the first move to ask a girl out on a date?

I’ll tell you what happened! Feminists happened! And according to them “traditional gender roles in romantic relationships are sexist and stifling for women” (pg. 7). So, if a guy opens a door for me, he is pretty much saying “Here. Let me get the door for you. It’s too heavy for your female arms.” Please, people. If a guy offers to pay for your dinner he isn’t a misogynist! He is being polite and CHIVALROUS! He is showing you respect.

I have hope, nonetheless. I don’t think chivalry is completely dead.

While feminists have continuously striven for female empowerment (lol), “many women have experiences a loss of power int he post-sexual revolution dating environment.” Well, no DUH. I mean. Look at our society right now. Women are viewed as sex objects. We have to look a certain way, weigh a certain weight, have our hair a certain way, act a certain way. And everything is sexualized. It’s no wonder women have lost power in the dating arena. Men aren’t expected to act or treat women with respect. And when a girl comes along and says no to premarital sex, or doesn’t act or look a certain way, when they say NO to the Status Quo of being a sex object, to being “free”, guys don’t know what to do. It’s out of the norm for them. So, here is how I see this. Women have lost power in the dating scene because they have become sex objects. “Little or nothing is expected from men by the women who sleep with them.” (pg. 14) I don’t want to be the girl no one expects anything from! You better expect a lot out of me. You better respect me. No respect? I don’t want anything to do with you. I have a brain! I’m smart. Feminists are going about this all wrong. They are unable to see that women are MORE empowered when they don’t give a man sex, when they have self-respect, when they see the good in themselves. When they see that they are special and beautiful and smart.

I’m a traditional gal. A relationship is all about respect, and I usually know right off the bat is a guy is respectful or not. It’s pretty obvious by how he speaks, the language he uses, how he dresses, his mannerisms, etc. I have high expectations of people, especially guys.

And so. In our society today, virginity is not considered a virtue. It is something to be thrown away. Sex is not about love; it is about instant pleasure. My friends will tell me that I need to loosen up, have some fun. But there is nothing “fun” in dating every guy you come in contact with, nothing fun about sleeping with different people. I respect myself too much to be someone’s “notch on the bedpost”, or another girl to add to the list of girls they’ve dated. I want more out of life. But this doesn’t mean that I’m giving in to men. Oh no. I’m in control here despite what feminists may say.

The chapter continues like this. It talks about how divorce means nothing anymore. Marriage means nothing. If you get marry and decide you don’t like the person anymore… No biggy. Divorce them. Find another one.

There is “no obligation to continue the relationship” in our society. How sad is that?

I really enjoy the part of the different types of relationships, on pg. 12-13. The “joined at the hip” relationship. The “hanging out” relationship. The hooker uppers. In all of this, women have lost power. They’re blind to the truth!

I could keep talking about all of this, but I think you could get more out of it if you read the book. I urge all of you to get it! It’s really a great read, easy read also. Have a great day everyone!

~Lucy

“Therefore, I will hedge in her way with thorns and erect a wall against her, so that she cannot find her paths. If she runs after her lovers, she shall not overtake them; if she looks for them she shall not find them. They she shall say, ‘I will go back to my first husband, for it was better with me then than now.'” Hosea 2: 8-9

Comments on: "Ch. 2- Return to Romance" (7)

  1. Terrance H. said:

    You seem to have a far better grasp of this issue than me, so let me run something by you which I heard this evening. I’d like to hear your thoughts.

    I’m watching MSNBC’s Lock-Up Raw, and the episode deals not just with men, but women as well. According to the show, in the last 20 years, male imprisonment has gone up 29% while female imprisonment has gone up 50%!

    Staggering numbers! 50% more women are going to prison these days. Do you think that has something to do with the new “empowerment” of women, or what?

    • Those are very interesting numbers.

      Truth is, I don’t have a great grasp on the subject. These posts are just my commentary on the book, and my many opinions. So, I can’t really tell you exactly why this would happen.

      If I had to guess, I would say it might have to do with women’s “empowerment.” But I think there might be many underlying facts that we aren’t privy to. It might also have to do with our changing and modernizing society. It could do with the fact that there are many more single parents/mothers out there who struggle everyday to just get by. The use of alcohol and other drugs has increased. One could argue that illegal drugs are more easy to come by than perhaps they were in the past. It could also be the fact that the standard for behavior in our society has declined somewhat. There isn’t such a high standard for respect of others and of oneself. It could be many different things. I don’t think we can acquit any of these things as the single cause of the increase of women in prison. It might possibly be a combination of them all.

      I hope that helps you somewhat. Again, these are all just guesses. I honestly have no idea why women are taking over the prisons. =)

      ~Lucy

      • Terrance H. said:

        Why are there more single mothers, do you think? Empowerment? Because traditional value died off as a result of not just “empowerment,” but various other liberal revolutions?

        To be honest, I don’t really know, except to say liberalism taken to the extreme.

        You know, liberalism – or, progressivism – can be a very good thing. Women’s Rights (those fought for by people like Susan B. Anthony). Civil Rights. Worker’s Rights. All of those things are good and noble. But when liberalism is taken to the next extreme, it becomes destructive. We have effectively created a society where people believe they have not just the freedom of religion, but freedom FROM religion. Which is peculiar, considering religion – specifically Christianity – is to be credited with the beginning of Women’s Rights (see: the Second Great Awakening).

        The moral decline is a result of taking God out of every thing, I believe. It’s not the same anymore. Even my liberal father lauds the 50s of old where “stores were closed on Sunday and things weren’t so commercialized.”

        I’m 25 years old and even I miss the 50s. Arg.

        • There are more single mothers because there is more divorce. There is more divorce because there is a lack of love/trust/respect/intimacy in marriages. There is a lack of love in marriages because our society has thrown in the trash decency, modesty, dignity. Virginity is no longer a virtue; it’s ok to sleep with everyone and anyone without shame. Sex is recreational. There are many reasons why there are more divorces, but I think that is the main one. Traditional value has died off. Many good things have died off because of progressivism.

          I’m 19 and I miss the old days! It sounds so cheesy, but I consider myself old fashion. In fact, the nickname my cousins dumbed me years ago was Grandma, and when I got to college it carried on. I take it as a compliment, however, because if I am anything like either of my grandmother’s, then I know that I have succeeded in life. Anyways, I’m going to school to earn a degree so that I can get a good job and be self-sufficient. But more than a decent job and more than making a name for myself, I want a family. And in this age of feminism and working women, and in this sexual revolution (which I believe is continuing) a woman who wants to be a stay at home mother is shocking! I say whatever. I want what I want. I am what I am. I am a female conservative, college student. Sue me.

          The problem with liberals is that they take things too far… Feminism in its original form is beautiful. Equal rights for women! But we have achieved evil rights, and feminists are still fighting. Fighting for what? In a weird sense, they are going backwards. Ok, so, if a woman has complete control of her body then she should be able to sleep with whomever she wants whenever she wants. But in turn what? What is she gaining? She is ruining her body. Harming her soul. She is putting guys in control by saying they can have sex whenever they want. Guys don’t respect these women (correct me if I’m wrong of course).

          Civil rights- Fantastic! My sociology professor would murder me right now, but they have equal rights! I mean, we have a mixed race president for crying out loud. If we were a racist nation, would he have even been able to run for president, much less win? Ok.

          Anything in the extreme is destructive. It prohibits us from seeing beyond our own noses. Liberalism is destructive in the extreme, but conservatism is also destructive in the extreme. It is so important for us all to stay open-minded and be able to see our own strengths and weaknesses. It is important to not be too far on either side of the spectrum. It is important to do things for the greater good, to do the things that are truly the most beneficial. It’s a hard thing to balance.

          I like that you brought of freedom from religion… It’s not enough that they have the choice not to practice religion, but there are people who expect religion not to be anywhere. They are offended by it! It can’t be on any government property, although our nation was built on religion. It can’t be on any public property. In my University Studies class one of my peers asked the professor what the dates were for Easter Break. Her response: “We are a public university. It is Spring Holiday. We don’t want to offend anyone.” Now, I really like my professor. She is also my adviser. But seriously… I just don’t understand why anyone would be offended by that! I mean, if someone asked me when the Passover Break was, as a Christian I wouldn’t be offended just because I don’t practice Judaism! Good gracious, it is so frustrating.

          Life certainly is not the same. Our society is not the same. Things do change, but the question to ask is have they changed for the better? I honestly can’t say.

          Thanks for the comment.

          ~Lucy

          • Terrance H. said:

            I went to the University of Michigan; a bastion of liberalism, so I’ve heard that whole “Not Easter, but Spring” nonsense before. I reject it. I’ll say Easter because it’s my religion and I’m the one celebrating; others can celebrate Spring Break and call it such; I don’t care.

            I don’t respect women or men who sleep with numerous different people. And that means I don’t respect my younger self. I was a horrible person then. Horrible. I slept around with women who thought I cared about them, but I didn’t. And why did I do it? Because I could. Because it was easy. I was young and stupid.

            Thanks for your comments. I’m going to put a link to your blog on my Recommended Reading list if you don’t mind.

          • We all have our “stupid” moments, but it doesn’t mean we should lose respect in ourselves, past, present, or future.
            I would be very grateful if you could put me on your Recommended Reading list! Thanks so much!

            ~Lucy

  2. Lucy,
    I think your thoughts are right on. Empowerment only comes from being obedient to the wishes of our creator. My prayer is that young girls everywhere will have someone in their lives to tell them that they are beautiful, unique and special.
    True freedom comes from leading a life that yields to God in all things, because He has great things in store for each of us beyond our comprehension.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

