Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

Has anyone else noticed how the main topic of many of women’s magazines is sex? Cosmo, Glamour, Women’s Health online has a sex page, Marie Claire. The list goes on. It’s all about recreational sex.

The Pol. Incorrect Guide to Women, Sex, and Feminism makes an interesting observation. “Women lost the sexual revolution.” (pg. 19)

Recreational sexual activity was supposed to put women on the same playing field as men, show men that they have just as much control over their own bodies. Except what they have done instead is show that they’ll have sex whenever and where ever.

As a college student, the temptation of pre-marital sex is everywhere. I often hear “You’re in college; you’re supposed to have sex.” Or “Let’s loose every now and then, Lucy. Have fun!”

Ugh, no. Sex may be a part of the majority of college students lives, but it’s not going to be a part of mine. You can give me grief all you want, you can tell me I’m too uptight, that I’m too conservative. But all that’s going to do is make me stand more firm to my beliefs. It’s going to have the opposite effect on me.

On pg. 21, Lukas explains how this idea of recreation sex doesn’t end with college. “Our pop culture seems to celebrate- even while still sneering at- infamously promiscuous young women.”

I interpret this statement as such: As young college students, as adults, we are supposed to have casual sex, but society looks down at promiscuous women as easy, sluts, etc.

So where is the balance? There is none. It’s an oxymoron. Have lots of sex! But not too much. Give your body to multiple men! But not too many.

My goodness. If anyone thinks this message is just in the popular media, on television shows, in popular magazines, I’m sorry, but you are very mistaken.

In my sociology class, we are talking about gender inequality, and this idea has come up multiple times of having many sex partners and it being an ok thing. Women’s study classes are all about women’s sexual roles. Check out pg. 23 for some quotes from a few textbooks.

“Sexual exploration is a key element of women’s liberation” (pg. 22).

Here’s a question. If casual sex was supposed to liberate women, how come there are still sexual assaults, rapes, sexual harassment against women? I think we have created a monster. Not only are there more risks to STD’s, but abortion rates are higher than ever because women are getting pregnant and killing their unwanted child. It’s disgusting. Not only are they ruining their own lives, but the lives of another.

“Women has adopted the worst characteristics of men.” pg. 25 Haha. So true! The paragraph after this quote is excellent.

The rest of the chapter is about how women are unable to separate love and sex. And I truly believe this. Women are different from men, and I believe that biology has a great deal to do with this, no matter how many times my Sociology prof. tells me I’m wrong. We are just different from men. I’m not sure why our society today is so persistent on making sure that there isn’t love in sexual relationships. “Women are warned against engaging in casual sex with someone in whom they might possible be interested for a real relationship.” (pg. 29) Man, this is sad…

Here’s my take on things. I’m going to present myself with modesty. I’m not going to walk around with a super low-cut shirt, or shorty short shorts. Why? Because I want a guy to respect me for my mind, my spirit, my personality. Not because he thinks he can get some. Oh, Lucy, that’s so cliché! Well, I respect myself too much to throw my body around. I just wish my friends could see things the same way.

Have a great weekend everyone!

~Lucy

“My child, be modest in your self-esteem, and value yourself at your proper worth.” Sirach 10:28

 

Comments on: "Ch. 3 Sex: Love’s Got Something to Do With It" (4)

  1. Terrance H. said:

    Whatever guy ends up with you is the lucky one, for certain.

    Frankly, I’m quite surprised you are able to stand firm in the face of all the pressure. If your sociology class is anything like mine used to be, you’re the only conservative in the room. In mine, I lucked out, I must say. When abortion became the topic, I was jeered from every direction but one: my professor just happened to be a pro-life liberal. Whew! She stepped in and took some of the jeering!

    • Well thanks, Terrance H. I appreciate that.

      I’m not sure if I’m the only conservative in the room, but I think I would be the only one willing to stand up for conservative principles. I do have to say, however, that while my professor is very liberal, she seems to be very open to discussion and opposing ideas. For our homework, we write response papers on articles that are assigned, and the last article I completely disagreed with. You might be interested to read it. http://www.alternet.org/story/48856/ I think it’s a bunch of BS, personally. I’d be interested to see what you think.
      I am slightly afraid of what my grade will be, but I find that I don’t particularly care. I’m not going to lie, and I hope that she respects my honesty. In saying that, I am very careful about what I say because I know that she would disagree with a lot of it. But I’m one of those people where the more you argue with me, the more likely I am to stick to my position. Peer pressure never affected me. People ganging up on me never affected me. I refuse to back down on what I believe in.
      Unfortunately, my professor is not Pro-Life, and not a lot of college students are either. It’s a shame.
      I also found out that Ronald Reagan received a degree in Sociology. Thought that was interesting.
      Thank you for your comment!

      ~Lucy

      • Terrance H. said:

        Obviously it’s an opinion peace intended to agitate the Left into action. From the get-go it is assumed the reader agrees with the fundamentals (i.e., reproductive rights, gender inequality, et cetera…). It’s doesn’t seem to be intended to change minds, but if it is, it’s poorly written for the purpose.

        The assumption that women are “expected to take care of housework and children” is pretty ridiculous. The former is a stereotypical narrative bearing little resemblance to reality. It’s a bunch of hooey. I’m confident in saying that all the men I know are neat-freaks, including myself. And, quite infamously, men are of the mind that if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself!

        The latter is not so much an expectation as a demand – from the children. As a former child, I can say without hesitation that the most important person in the child’s life is the mother – unquestionably. As a father, that makes me jealous as hell! Why would any woman want to elude such an honor? Or, are modern women of the mind that parenting is unimportant in the face of a career? If so, they are little different than the fathers of yesteryear.

        The world MAN is actually a subliminal message that women are no better than dirt to be trampled under foot! Oh, my! We must alert someone – anyone! But who? Surely not a policeMAN or fireMAN.

        Personally, I think this idea of quibbling over a root word is ridiculous. Seriously! A root word used to indicate our biological family (i.e., Hominidae) is something for Congress? Please! Liberals invent problems to fight against, for crying out loud. They’re like the little engines who couldn’t. They’re a bit cute when they get mad, though.

        I think you’ve said once before, Status, that the idea of what or who the modern woman is has created the culture we live into today, where women are viewed as sex objects. Their liberation has done them more harm than good, I think.

        My vote: Nonsense. The entire article was absolute nonsense.
        .

        • The article was insane as was the whole website. I was interested in seeing where my professor got this crap from, so I did a little snooping around. I found something about three-somes, how Obama was so fantastic, and how the GOP members were idiots. Typical. I view feminists as such: They want a fight! They’re never content with anything. It’s more, more, more for me, me, me.
          I agree with you that one of the most important people in a child’s life is their mother. The father is also very important, too, so don’t feel too jealous. This thing is, though, that women don’t see parenthood as an honor anymore; it’s a burden. I don’t understand this. Children need their parents! Not a nanny. Not daycare.
          This sexist language the crazy woman was talking about in her article is most definitely an excuse. They’ll use whatever they can find to brainwash young readers into believing that freshman is a sexist term, used to keep women at bay and men on top in society. The article is ridiculous. And they have dug themselves a deep whole. They’re just too far in to see it.
          ~Lucy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

