Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

Even my Computer

Hi everyone!

I was typing up my résumé yesterday, and I wanted to share the screen shot of a particular section of it with you.

Apparently, even my computer recognizes “sexist” language… =P

In case you can’t read it, the sentence I wrote was “Tutored underclassmen…”

My computer underlined “underclassmen” as a grammar error, and for its suggestion it says, “Gender-Specific expression. Consider replacing with ‘under class student’.”

Oh my goodness. Really? REALLY?

I’m curious if anyone else’s computer has corrected their word documents with gender specific expressions. Let me know!

~Lucy

“Then he said, ‘Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.’ He replied to him, ‘Amen, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.'” (Luke 23: 42-43)

Comments on: "Even my Computer" (11)

  1. Terrance H. said:

    Wow. I have never seen that before. What are you using? Word, Pages, something different?

    Usually when I write something I care about, I’ll use Pages, as it came standard on my Mac. When I’m on Windows, I use Lotus Symphony, ’cause it’s free and I’m not about to pay an absurd amount for Word. And I don’t feel like, um, “borrowing it” because I don’t really need it.

    That’s really surreal. Never seen that before.

  2. Terrance H. said:

    Oh, BTW, that’s Dom Imus and his group talking about it. You can probably Google and find better articles and commentary, but I like Don Imus. LOL. They discuss that tidbit at around the 3:30, I think.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

