Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

OBL Pics a No Go

Found out this morning that Obama will not be releasing the pictures of the dead Osama bin Laden.

I’m slightly angered by this. I feel that as an American citizen I have the right to see a picture of the dead Osama bin Laden. I have the right to see the man who master minded the September 11th attacks on our country (God bless those heroes’ souls). Do I not have the right to see a picture of the worlds most known terrorist dead? The man who was no. 1 on the FBI’s Most Wanted List?

Apparently, Obama doesn’t think so.

Since I don’t have a radio in my dorm room, every once in a while I read the transcripts from Rush Limbaugh’s show. And he made an interested point today.

http://www.rushlimbaugh.com/home/daily/site_050411/content/01125108.guest.html

He said that the reason Obama is not releasing the photos is to distract the American people from the economy, from gas prices, from slow job growth, etc. According to Jake Tapper of ABC News, “President Obama is increasingly doubtful that there’s a compelling reason to release a photograph of Osama Bin Laden’s corpse…” Is he now?

I guess I just don’t understand this. Whats the confusing part here Obama? How do you not see a “compelling reason” to show your American citizens, the people you are supposed to be representing and helping, the death of the man who led the attack on our country?

“Meanwhile, sources say, Defense Secretary Robert Gates and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton are advising the president about concerns at the Pentagon and State Department that releasing a photograph could prompt a backlash against the US for killing bin Laden where one does not seem to currently exist.” Just. Wow. Honestly? There’s no threat of a backlash against us from Al Qaeda after we killed their leader? Now that’s a lie. I mean, I’m not in the armed forces, I don’t work for the CIA or the FBI. I don’t have security clearance. But doesn’t that just seem like common sense? Common sense that we killed a leader of Al Qaeda, and OBL’s followers are now going to want to retaliate and avenge his death? Seems logical to me. But I’m just a little college student… What do I know, right?

The rest of Rush’s transcript is hilarious. I’d really urge you all to read it if you have some free time.

I’d really like to see these pictures. I’d like to see the DNA. Not so much because I’m skeptical that Osama is dead. Not it at all. I just like physical proof. I like seeing things for myself. I’d rather not have to just rely on Obama’s word. So release the pics Barack. Release the pics.

~Lucy

Take my poll! Should Obama release the pictures of Osama bin Laden dead?

Comments on: "OBL Pics a No Go" (7)

  1. Yes! Keep questioning them! 🙂

  2. Terrance H. said:

    New Status Quo,

    Respectfully, I must disagree.

    As horrible as it was, September 11th, 2001, happened. A gruesome photograph of a dead terrorist cannot erase the horror. It will not lessen the pain or make the tragedy more bearable. It will do nothing for us but satisfy our demons. Blood! Yes!

    The killing of Osama Bin Laden undoubtedly fanned the flames, which means more American lives are now in danger. I see no reason to fan them more simply to quell suspicions and satisfy our hunger for blood.

    He planned 9-11. Now he is dead. Let it be.

    Thanks.

    • I respect your opinion, but I feel like we have a right to see the body of the man who killed so many Americans. Just how I see things. I also understand that people may not be able to take seeing that. Blood and guts never really bothered me, so that probably makes me see things differently.

      • Terrance H. said:

        Ah, I still love you. I hated to disagree with you, because every time I see the name NewStatusQuo, I think of the cutest girl in the world and upsetting her is not something I would aspire to do. LOL.

        Sorry, I’m being patriarchal or whatever.

        Anyway, you have to remember: 1). I’m a conservative who voted for Obama, so when I can stick up for him, I do; 2). I used to be incredibly liberal, and some of that liberal-ness lingers; and 3). I despise partisanship. We’re all people.

        As has been said many times, that which unites us is stronger than that which divides us. I wish Rush Limbaugh would keep that in mind. Or, Jesse Jackson’s words: “It takes two wings to fly.”

        • Agreed that when we are divided we are weaker then when we are united… Our country, however, will never be united in politics.
          As with the pictures, there was just nothing more horrifying then seeing people jumping out of buildings on 9/11; there was nothing more horrifying than watching the towers fall. The picture of Osama will provide a lot of comfort to people who lost family members on that day and for Americans who truly remember that horrifying day.
          Don’t be upset to disagree with me. I don’t expect people to agree with me on everything I blog about. I also expect you to say when you disagree with me, because, as much as I like when people are on my side, I also like debating things. 😛
          I’m glad you realized that being conservative is smarter and cooler than being a liberal.

  3. Terrance H. said:

    NewStatusQuo,

    Seeing the people jump out of the burning towers was indeed horrifying. But would it make it less so if pictures of Osama’s head blown off were released? No. Would the families of the victims take comfort? I think they take comfort in simply knowing justice has been served, something the DNA test confirmed.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

