Stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the current status quo.

Um. Seriously?

I hate when I have to do this (really  I do), but I am throwing one of my friends under the bus again.

Oh, liberals.

I won’t say names. But one of my female friends posted this on her fb page, and it just so conveniently came up on my news feed.

“‘Welfare will create generations of irresponsible animals.’ Fox News…..AHHHHHHHHHHH!! HEAD DESK!! AND PEOPLE BELIEVE THIS SHIT?!?!?!”

This post was accompanied by this link.

John Stewart. Oh goodness…

My response to this status would go as follows.

Ahem. My dear friend, You are stupid. I’m sorry to be so blunt. You can bash Fox News all you want, but you are getting your news from John Stewart on Comedy Central. John Stewart is not a credible news source. He has no idea what he is talking about. He is trying to be funny. He is not a news anchor. He is not a scholar. If you want to bash Fox News, watch something credible. Or at least more credible than John Stewart. I would even prefer you watch CNN or MSNBC. SOMETHING! Watch the “news.” Not this fake, stupid news. Sincerely, You’re friend, who really wants you to be educated and know your facts and stop being silly.

If only.

I know this is mean. It really upsets me that my friends are so uninformed and come up with stupid crap like this. If I were to REALLY post something on this stupid post, it would go something like this….

You can bash Fox News and conservatives all you want. You get your news from John Stewart on Comedy Central….. ’nuff said.

But since this chick is my friend….. I’ll just rant about her political stupidity to you guys! Awesome.

I mean, honestly. How ignorant people are! How ignorant liberals are. How ignorant my friends are.

I think I need to find more conservative friends. 😛

~Lucy

Comments on: "Um. Seriously?" (6)

  1. Terrance H. said:

    Lucy,

    If you watch Fox News, that’s generally their take on the issue. They always yammer on about the “entitlement mentality” people who vote for Democrats have. It’s utter nonsense.

    Entitlement mentality…Like, say, allowing the extreme rich to milk the IRS by claiming their daily martini lunch is a business expense….

    The most staggering entitlement mentality in American society today belongs to the rich.

    And Jon Stewart is no fool. He graduated with honors from The College of William & Mary. I went there for a semester when I lived in Virgina. Then I went broke and had to crawl home. It’s a good school.

    • We apparently see the world through different lens because there is an “entitlement mentality” in our society. Everyone wants something. It’s not just Democrats. It’s not just liberals. But Republicans and conservatives too. We feel we are entitled to Medicare. We feel we are entitled to Medicaid. We feel we are entitled to free health insurance. We feel we are entitled to food stamps. We feel we are entitled to government bail outs. We feel we are entitled to social security. We feel entitled. It’s just the truth of our society.
      I’m not saying any of these things are a bad thing. If people are unable to buy food for their families, I feel like they have a right to food stamps. However, I think there needs to be some restrictions. I’m not sure when this happened, but there was a guy a bit back that was on food stamps and then won the lottery. Something like a couple million bucks. A lot of money. And yet, he was still entitled to receive food stamps from the government. I just don’t see how that is acceptable.
      I completely disagree with universal health care. I think health care should be more affordable, but the government should not control it and it should not be handed out. We don’t need to be giving the government more power than it already has.
      There most certainly is an “entitlement mentality” in our society. It’s hard to deny. And I do watch Fox News. I think they are the least biased news source out there. (I know you’ll disagree.) But I watch other news sources too. I read the news online on various sites. I try to look at all view points and be unbiased. And I feel like Fox tells it like it is. They tell the truth. People don’t like it.
      And I’m very glad Jon Stewart went to William and Mary. It is a great school. I never said he was a fool. I just said he was stupid. And. He is a comedian. Not a news anchor. So maybe people shouldn’t be using his show as their news source. Just sayin’.

      • Terrance H. said:

        Lucy,

        You just made my point. Conservatives are always yammering on and on about an entitlement mentality, yet, amazingly, you, a conservative, just admitted that we all feel entitled to something, even conservatives. Hypocrisy much?

        I’m not sure when this happened, but there was a guy a bit back that was on food stamps and then won the lottery. Something like a couple million bucks. A lot of money. And yet, he was still entitled to receive food stamps from the government. I just don’t see how that is acceptable.

        You’re talking about the guy in Auburn, MI, a few miles from where I live. Our local news did a story on him. He won $2 million dollars on a lottery game show and never declared that income to the State, so they kept on giving him his EBT card and he used it.

        What is your point, though? Do you think Leftists agree with that? Of course not! The State screwed up big time, and the guy is a rotten fool who should be ashamed of himself.

        I completely disagree with universal health care. I think health care should be more affordable, but the government should not control it and it should not be handed out. We don’t need to be giving the government more power than it already has.</blockquote?

        Why not? Why shouldn't the government be involved in health care? You don't seem to have a reason outside of some bizarre fear that the government will be too powerful.

        They tell the truth. People don’t like it

        No, they do not. There are at least a dozen websites devoted to exposing Fox and their lies, and they are well-sourced. Let me know and I send a few links your way.

        I never said he was a fool. I just said he was stupid.

        Even better then.

        Not a news anchor. So maybe people shouldn’t be using his show as their news source. Just sayin’.</blockquote?

        And yet he won a Peabody award, something Bill O'Reilly, a Fox News anchor, claimed to have one but didn't.

        Why don't you just admit that you're a conservative because you feel it is the only mainstream political ideology in tune with your faith? I look at you (figuratively) and see a woman with a strong faith but not much of a conservative attitude, even though you try to have one.

        • Ouch. If I don’t have a conservative attitude, then what do I have? And how does my faith (I assume you mean my Christian faith) play into this at all?
          I also don’t think that my fear of a too powerful government is bizarre… Look at all the too-powerful governments in history. Hitler. Stalin. The Soviet Union. All too-powerful governments. All failed. I think that my fear of a too-powerful government is justified.

        • Terrance H. said:

          Lucy,

          A true conservative would have claimed that universal healthcare would cause a decline in the overall quality of healthcare. But you didn’t say that. Instead, you echoed some – and I maintain – bizarre fear of the government having too much power.

          I also shouldn’t have to explain the absurdity of comparing this republic with the dictatorships of Hitler and Stalin. All industrialized countries with the exception of the United States has had universal system of healthcare for a number of years and they have no such problems. The comparison is so insane I can hardly find words.

          You have a Christian attitude. You believe that Leftist thought is at odds with your faith – quite understandably – and so you choose to be a conservative. But I don’t see any real conservative credentials, outside of social issues.

          There’s nothing wrong with that. I didn’t say there was.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

